homepage European Clay Groups Association

SITE MAP



Professor Jan Środoń

Institute of Geological Sciences Polish Academy of Sciences 31-002 Kraków Senacka 1

Fax : (48) (12) 422-16-09

E-mail: ndsrodon@cyf-kr.edu.pl



Secretary:

Dr. Franz Ottner

Institut fuer Angewandte Geologie Peter Jordan Strasse 70

A-1190 Wien

Phone: (0043) 1 47654 5407 or 5410

E-mail: franz.ottner@boku.ac.at



STATUTES

News

Conference Announcements

Representatives of the National Clay Groups

Announcements of the National Clay Groups

Membership Directory [1184 entries]

Principal Editor of "Clay Minerals"

History and Perspectives of Clay Science

Useful Clay Mineralogy *links*

Archive (past conferences)



[STATUTES - PDF file]

EUROPEAN CLAY GROUPS ASSOCIATION (ECGA)

Founded in 1987 in Seville

STATUTES

Aim of the ECGA

The aim of the ECGA is to stimulate research among, and to distribute information to, European scientists relating to all aspects of clay science and technology.

Affiliation

The ECGA is open to all National Clay Groups of Europe and to the other well stablished National Clay Groups belonging to neighbouring countries that regularly attend EUROCLAY Meetings and maintain scientific relations with the European Clay Groups.

Affiliation does not involve any financial commitment.

Council

Each affiliated National Clay Group may nominate one representative and one substitute of the ECGA Council. Both representative and substitute may attend Council Meetings but each National Clay Group has only one vote.

The Principal Editor of Clay Minerals, the journal of the European Clay Groups, is an ex officio (non-voting) member of Council.

Responsibilities of Council are: (i) to encourage co-operation between the National Clay Groups of Europe and to co-ordinate activities when required; (ii) to decide on the venue for each four-yearly European Clay Meeting; (iii) to advise on publication policy of Clay Minerals.

Decisions at Council will be taken by simple majority vote (with the President having a casting vote), except in relation to changes in statutes which require a two thirds majority.

Council will normally meet at each European Clay Meeting. Special business meetings may also be called by the President during the AIPEA International Clay Conferences and/or other International Conferences pertinent to clay science. No decision taken at these special business meetings will be binding unless the meeting is attended by representatives of at least two-thirds of the affiliated

National Clay Groups.

Officers of ECGA

The President of the ECGA will be elected by Council at each European Clay Meeting. He/she will serve one term only, i. e. until the next European Clay Meeting. Nominations for President should be received by the Secretary of the ECGA one month prior to each European Clay Meeting and a list of nominees should be made available to representatives before the meeting of the ECGA Council. The President for his/her term of office may appoint a Secretary from outside the ECGA Council; this secretary has no voting rights on Council.

European Clay Meetings

European Clay Meetings will be held every four years, with a two-year gap between AIPEA International Clay Conferences which are also held on a four-year cycle. At each European Clay Meeting the ECGA Council will select the host Clay Group for the subsequent meeting. Offers to host the next European Clay Meeting should be received by the Secretary of the ECGA two months prior to the current meeting and a list of offers should be made available to representatives before the meeting of the ECGA Council.

The National Clay Group chosen to host the European Clay Meeting will appoint a Chairman of the Organising Committee. The Chairman and his committee will be responsible for all arrangements, including publication of papers presented at the meeting.

Relationship to AIPEA

The ECGA will support the aims of AIPEA and the President will inform AIPEA of all proposed activities.

(Original statutes proposed by F. Veniale. Redrafted by D. J. Morgan to include amendments made at the ECGA inaugural Council Meeting at Seville, 9. September 1987. Redrafted by M. J. Wilson to include amendments made at the ECGA Council Meeting at Dresden 27. August 1991. Redrafted by E. Galán to include amendments made at the ECGA Council Meeting at Banská Ŝtiavnica, 3. September 1996).

[25.04.2007]

Editorial & Webdesign	UP	© 2003 Institute of Geological Sciences P.A.S.
-----------------------	----	--