					Sitemap   Lo
Member Quicklinks	Events I	Branches	Publications	Honours & Awards	Advertising/Recruitment
Member Quicklinks					lm
Renew your  membership					
Update your contact details					28 AA Clc
Access the latest AJARE					4-5 AB
Access the Online Forum					Co 'R€
View the latest News & Views  Ontact AARES	<u>.</u>				AA Clc
© Central Office					<b>22</b> 6th
If you have renewed your membership but have not yet received a password,					Co Wi
please contact the Central Office.					25 3rc Alç
AARES Branches					8-1
Australian, New Zealand and North American					As Co
members are automatically affiliated with one of our Branches.	,				Un Bri
• ACT					<b>27</b> ·
New England					<b>26</b>
					<u>14</u> † Lju
New South Wales					
<ul> <li>New Zealand</li> </ul>					<b>28</b> 20
North America					Ne
• Queensland					31
South Australia					AA Aw Clc

<ul> <li>Victoria</li> </ul>	
<del></del>	17-
Western Australia	20°
	Co
	Me
	30
AADES Office Decrees	AA
AARES Office Bearers	Clc
Federal Executive	
	30
• Federal Council	Qu

Dis Qu

Co Clc

.....

 AJARE Editors • Central Office

• Federal Council

Read the latest **AARES** Newsletter:

**News and Views** October 2013 Volume 25, No. 2



Read the latest Journal (Members only)

**AJARE** 

Vol. 57, Issue 1

#### **Bonus for AARES Members**

**AARES** members are entitled to receive a special 25% discount on all Wiley books. Why not see what titles are available.

Some great



ideas for gifts.

(You must be logged on to follow this link.)



## 58th National AARES Conference

4<sup>th</sup>-7<sup>th</sup> February 2014 Glasshouse Arts Conference and Entertainment Centre Port Macquarie, NSW

The Local Organising Committee would like to thank all those who participated for a terrific conference.

Those presenters who wish to have a copy of their papers and presentations uploaded onto the AARES/AgEcon Search websites should email a copy of their submissions to Annie Hurst at the AARES Central Office.



**President's Profile** 

At the Society's Annual General Meeting held during the 57th Annual Conference in Port Macquarie, 4-7 February 2014, Alan Randall, Professor of Economics at the University of Sydney, became president of the Society. Alan s research interests include environmental risk; biodiversity, habitat, and environmental sustainability; environmental regulation, monitoring, and enforcement; and the benefits and costs of environmental projects and programs. He was Head of the department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at the University of Sydney 2011-2013, and Chair of the department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics at Ohio State University 1998-2010.

As president-elect of the Society, Alan suggested "Global, Local, Private, Public: Rethinking the Categories, Bridging the Gaps" for the theme of the 2014 Conference. Dr Nicholas Gruen provided a stimulating perspective on this theme at the Official Opening and Dr Simon Dietz lucidly addressed the economics of catastrophic climate risk in the Opening Plenary Session at the Conference.

#### **Prize Winners**

The following prize winners were announced at the AARES 2014 Annual Conference Dinner in Port Macquarie:

## **Undergraduate Awards**

- ACT Branch Sam Davidson, University of

Canberra

- NSW Branch Marie Johnston, University of

Sydney

- NZ Branch Evelyn Truong, Waikato

University

- QLD Branch Akihiro Omura, Griffith University

- SA Branch Alistair Pellen, University of

Adelaide

- WA Branch Stephen Ingram, UWA

- VIC & NE No nominations

Branch

## **Post-graduate Dissertation Award**

- Joint Winners Anthea Coggan, ANU

Elizabeth Nolan, University of

Sydney

# Young Professionals Exchange Travel Awards

- Heading Bethany Cooper, Latrobe

North University

- Heading Mykel Taylor, Kansas State

South University

- Heading Levente Timar, MOTU

West Levente rimar, WOTC

- Heading East Stephanie McWhinnie, University

of Adealaide

## **AJARE Best Paper**

 Klaus Glenk and Sergio Colombo Modelling outcome-related risk in choice experiments

# **Quality of Research Discovery Award**

- No award

# **Quality of Research Communications Award**

- Abbie Rogers, Marit Kragt, Fiona Gibson, Michael Burton,

Liz Peterson and David Pannell

## **Donna Brennan Award**

- Wenjie Wei, ANU

#### **First Time Presenter's Award**

- Marie Johnston, University of Sydney

## **Best Poster**

## **Award**

- Abhishek Rohatgi, National University of Singapore

# **Best Poster Presentation Award**

- Jan Orlowski, University of Sydney

## 2013 Distinguished Fellows

- Professor Chris O'Donnell, University of Queensland
- Assoc. Professor Bill Malcolm, University of Melbourne

# 2013 Distinguished Life Member

 Professor Ross Garnaut, University of Melbourne

Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University

Tel: 0409 032 338 | Email: office@aares.org.au | ARBN: 162 205 423