Division for Sustainable Development

Home | About | Areas of Work | <mark>CSD</mark> | SD Topics | Resources | News/Media

CSD Sessions

Preparatory Process

In-session Activities

Follow-up to CSD Decisions

About the CSD

Mandate

Matrix

Member States

Bureau

Multi-Year Programme of Work

High-level Segments

Case Studies

FAQs

Contact Us

CSD > About the CSD

About the UN Commission on Sustainable Development (CSD)

Establishing the CSD

The United Nations Commission on Sustainable Development (CSD) was established by the UN General Assembly in December 1992 to ensure effective follow-up of United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED), also known as the Earth Summit.

CSD Responsibilities

The Commission is responsible for reviewing progress in the implementation of Agenda 21 and the Rio Declaration on Environment and Development; as well as providing policy guidance to follow up the Johannesburg Plan of Implementation

(JPOI) at the local, national, regional and international levels. The JPOI reaffirmed that the CSD is the high-level forum for sustainable development within the United Nations system.



Additional Resources

UN Inter-agency Coordination

The CSD meets annually in New York, in two-year cycles, with each cycle focusing on clusters of specific thematic and cross-sectoral issues, outlined in its new multi-year programme of work (2003-2017) (E/CN.17/2003/6)



The CSD has opened its sessions to broad participation from both governmental and non-governmental actors, and it supports a number of innovative activities, such as the Partnerships Fair, the Learning Centre and a series of panels, roundtables and side events. The High-level segment features dialogue among Ministers, and Ministers also hold a special dialogue session with Major Groups.

CSD Membership & Bureau

As a functional commission of the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), CSD has 53 member States (about one third of the members are elected on a yearly basis). Each session of the CSD elects a Bureau, comprised of a Chair and four vice-Chairs.